i still think corndogs are awesome

13 Feb

I was a very picky eater as a child.  I am sorry.  That is not the whole truth.  I was a very picky eater well into adulthood.  My favorite food group was corndogs for WAY too long– Thank you, vegan cooking, for guiding me out of that pit of darkness.  As a reformed picky eater, I have only explored spicy foods for a few years.  To be frank, I have no tolerance.  I want to tolerate it.  Nay, I want to enjoy it, but all I taste is pain.

Last week, Husby suggested we add the Appetite for Reduction Buffalo Tempeh to our meal plan.  I knew I was going to have to modify to suit my heat-intolerance.  I took some inspiration from AFR and some from the milder Tempeh Wingz recipe from an old vegan zine, Don’t Eat Off the Sidewalk.  The result was a delicious sauce that will NOT melt your face off but still has some kick.

BuffMellow Sauce (Because it’s Buffalo sauce, but it’s Mellow!  I know… I apologize.)

  • 1/2 C veg broth
  • 1/4 C Frank’s Redhot
  • 1/4 C ketchup
  • 1-2 tsp agave
  • 1 tsp sriracha
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp dried oregano

I just dumped this sauce and my cut up tempeh into a pan.  Then, cooked down the sauce until most of it was sticking to the tempeh.  Reserving some sauce to add afterward is a good idea (Oops).  Eating this with the Coolslaw recipe from AFR is an even better idea.

(It probably doesn’t look like it from my unfortunately low lit picture, but the saucy goodness was well absorbed into the tempeh and filled it with flavor.  I PROMISE.)

 

11 Responses to “i still think corndogs are awesome”

  1. Cara 02.13.2012 at 5:13 PM #

    I am digging this recipe. Saving it for dinner this week!

  2. Maggie Muggins 02.14.2012 at 6:16 PM #

    You are not alone with the picky eating, I pretty much lived off of mac and cheese until I was 24..in my defence it was the only thing I knew how to cook. Also, the first time I tried Indian food I thought it was the grossest thing ever. God I was weird.

    • corrinadarling 02.17.2012 at 12:55 PM #

      Ahahaha! I’m glad I am not the only one. I definitely didn’t know how to cook until my early/mid twenties. Young me would be shocked to meet my present, totally kitchen-capable self.

  3. Jojo 02.16.2012 at 9:42 AM #

    I always have to modify spicy recipes too, I’m a total wuss!

    • corrinadarling 02.17.2012 at 12:56 PM #

      wussy high five! i feel like everyone i know has a higher tolerance than myself. i feel so lame asking for spicy dishes to be made mild, but, ya know, i also want it to be edible.

  4. mskristiina 02.21.2012 at 5:04 PM #

    They look awesome! I keep hearing so much about AFR, it needs to be my next cookbook purchase.

    • corrinadarling 02.23.2012 at 8:51 AM #

      it does! it’s not just a low-cal cookbook! the food is delicious, most of the recipes are quick, and the ingredients are very generic grocery store friendly. get it!

  5. Shira 02.21.2012 at 11:02 PM #

    Love love tempeh! Any chance I get as I can tolerate it much more than tofu (which I eat very rarely)…..Sweet!

  6. Ashlae W. 02.24.2012 at 12:04 AM #

    YES, YES, YES! That tempeh looks (and sounds) awesome. Always looking for new tempeh marinades, since I practically live off of the stuff.

say hey

