[pinterest eats] meal planning from pinboards

23 Jan

One of my goals for the new year (really, any time of the year) is to meal plan and budget better.  I don’t know why I am not awesome at this.  It should be genetically imprinted on you when you become a parent.

This past week I made old stand-bys like the VegNews Mac and Cheeze (great for using up spare farmer’s market potatoes and carrots) and Tofu-Ricotta Stuffed Shells.  I also tried a new recipe from the most recent issue of Real Simple, which features a bunch of slow cooker meals, Sauerkraut, Potatoes, and [Tofurky] Sausage.  We also ate frozen pizza and got take-out.  Baby steps, I suppose.

To keep myself motivated and interested I’m opting to forgo my, perhaps shamefully massive, library of vegan cookbooks and shop Pinterest for meal ideas.  So, in no particular order because I find having a list to pick from instead of assigning them to specific days is more realistic for my needs, here are some meals I am hoping to make this week:

I am also going to try my hand at some slow cooker seitan.  It won’t be my first run, but I don’t feel like I have really mastered it yet.  And, for the pickiest eater I’ll probably make a big batch of nuggets, and supplement with raw veg (I am glad he at least likes undressed vegetables) and a metric ton of sunbutter sandwiches.

6 Responses to “[pinterest eats] meal planning from pinboards”

  1. Allison 01.24.2012 at 10:21 PM #

    Tim made a Kale and Qunioa recipe from 101 cookbooks the other night – delicious!

  2. diana 01.25.2012 at 2:13 AM #

    Oh, wow, I love your vegan posts, or just your posts, actually, ha. I do agree Pinterest can make me a better cook in the kitchen. I can’t wait to see what else you have posted. I actually have some vegan slow cooker recipes I can’t wait to share, too. Now I’m hungry :>

    • corrinadarling 01.25.2012 at 10:50 AM #

      Thank you kindly! I don’t post about the non-vegan things I eat because, frankly, they are usually dull and unhealthy. I’ll keep an eye out for your slow cooker recipes. I certainly need more.

  3. Cara 01.26.2012 at 10:20 AM #

    I just had to Pin that Quiche recipe. Um hello? Delicious.

  4. Maggie Muggins 02.07.2012 at 6:25 PM #

    White pizza with roasted garlic coconut cream? Well hello lovely.
    I’ve been trying to get back on the cooking band wagon too, so far so good, but sometimes all a girl wants is a big bowl of cereal for dinner.

say hey

