Living in The Dozen (That’s what I’m calling 2012, Ya’ll!)

4 Jan

First, can I just say how much I love that in the past few years people seem to have collectively embraced “goals not resolutions” for the New Year.  I love making lists and trying to build myself into a better person, but resolutions are just so darn resolute.  I like the wiggle room implied with goals.  Room for amendments.  Room for my humanity and imperfections.  I like it.

I have thought about what goals I would like to reach for in the next year, The Dozen.  So, I am looking ahead at where I want to be, and I realize that in 6 months time our lives are turning upside down.  After almost a decade of service, Mr. Darling will be leaving the military and looking for civilian employment.   I cannot convey the excitement.  Knowing there is less than a year, knowing this was the last Christmas we live too far from our families to visit for the holiday, the joy is without words.

I cannot even envision where I want to be because for the first time in years the door is so very wide open.

8 Responses to “Living in The Dozen (That’s what I’m calling 2012, Ya’ll!)”

  1. A of Little Alexander 01.04.2012 at 2:52 PM #

    Sounds very exciting! We’ll be glad to hear about all the newness as the year unfolds.

  2. Cara 01.04.2012 at 9:56 PM #

    Wow. This *is* major excitement! I had no idea your husband has been serving in the military–I tip my hat off to not only him, but to the hardwork you put forth as well to keep the family unit together! This definitely must be so exciting for you to finally have “normalcy,” not to mention your better half around at all times. Yay for Living in the Dozen…

    • corrina 01.05.2012 at 7:14 PM #

      Thank you! He’s been on shore duty (we’re Navy) for the past few years. So there hasn’t been any sea time or deployments, but the work still leaves something to be desired. We’re so looking forward to civilian life.

  3. reclusekate 01.05.2012 at 9:05 AM #

    Congratulations to Mr. Darling on his return to civilian life – and to you and the boys as well! I’m prior service and married to a retired soldier, so I can relate to the excitement and jitters; waiting to get out (or for your hubby to ETS) is like being a kid on Christmas Eve when you asked Santa for a new red bike. Great good luck to you all, and I look forward to reading about your adventures as they unfold 🙂

    • corrinadarling 01.05.2012 at 7:20 PM #

      thank you! it is SO exciting. we’re very fortunate that he’s received training that will serve him well in the civilian work force, but i’m very eager to know just WHERE we’ll end up.

  4. Maggie Muggins 01.07.2012 at 2:15 AM #

    Oh, that sounds super exciting! So many new and exciting changes to come for you guys in the new year. I hope you keep up blogging and we get to hear all about it 🙂

say hey

