hookin’ season

28 Nov

Do you craft?  For fun?  For the holidays?  I crochet year round, but once the chill really takes hold my hands start to ache for projects.

I am guilty of giving my children less than perfect attention whilst daydreaming about my yarn and hook.  Not that I don’t straight up sneak it into our days when I can.  Oh, I do.  But, sometimes I want to turn [something with Cary Grant instead of Kipper the Dog] on Netflix, sip some cocoa, and work up a project without having to worry if I have placed my scissors within reach of tiny hands.  KnowwutImsayin.

Lately, I’ve been eking out time to work on a holiday gift for my mother-in-law.

I don’t often make gifts for people.  There are just too many things I want to make for myself and my kiddos and not enough hours in the day.  However, my MIL is sentimental, perhaps overly so, and I know she will truly appreciate a handmade object.

I am trying to take it slow and enjoy the rhythm of this simple project, but in my head I am always thinking about the next project or even the project after next.  The only time Winter doesn’t seem long enough is when I think of it in terms of crochet projects.  This is the yarn season, and the clock is ticking.

4 Responses to “hookin’ season”

  1. Scissors 12.01.2011 at 1:31 AM #

    Beautiful! I wish I could crochet! I can knit though! 🙂

    • corrinadarling 12.01.2011 at 1:45 PM #

      And I wish I could knit! I’ve tried but crochet comes much more naturally to me.

  2. K of Little Alexander 12.03.2011 at 8:19 PM #

    That is some of the most fabulous crocheting I’ve seen! Great texture. What is it going to be?

say hey

