{recappin’} thanxvegan 2011

25 Nov

Oh. Mah. Goodness.  Yesterday was nuts.  The food was yummy, and the company was stellar.  This morning I reheated green bean casser ole, roast, and a roll on the stove and dumped it all into a bowl.  Thanksgiving breakfast bowl for the win.

Usually, when I’m making this many new-to-me dishes there is bound to be miss, but astoundly it was an entirely miss-less meal.  The Fat Free Vegan Green Bean Casserole lived up to the hype (and that’s coming from a self-professed green bean hater), the cake was successfully veganized, and my gracious that roast was aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaamazing.

Tru fax, that might have been the best seitan roast of my life.  The bite was tender but not chewy.  It was well-seasoned where so many roasts over or under season.  I just keep looking off and shaking my head because there. are. no. words.  It was so good.  I am thinking of making another one soon because all that remains of this one is a little end piece for my husby’s lunch.

I did deviate from the recipe in several ways.  I added liquid smoke because I don’t have smoked paprika, and then I just forgot to add regular paprika.  I blended my gluten in a food processor (instead of in a mixer or by hand).  And, since I got a late start, I put it in the slow cooker overnight on low instead of in the oven for three hours.

Okay, and the Four Layer Sweet Potato cake…

(please ignore lack of cake decorating skillz)

It was delicious.  But SO rich.  But delicious.  But rich.  Basically, it was all I hoped for.

I’ll post my finalized Brown Sugar Buttercream frosting soon.  I scrapped the first batch and created something even better the second time around.  My only regret is that I didn’t make a larger batch so I could be more liberal in my frosting of the cake.

Around these parts we’ve had a nice, mellow (or the toddler equivalent of mellow) Friday.  I saw fit to exert myself just enough to make the VPITS Pumpking Cheesecake, it was cut yesterday due to time crunch and belly hunger.  I hope, whatever you did this Friday, you had a good time and did not get pepper sprayed.

9 Responses to “{recappin’} thanxvegan 2011”

  1. Isobelle 11.25.2011 at 6:37 PM #

    Beautiful looking food! The pumpkin cheesecake looks especially appetizing. I still haven’t made much with pumpkin this season. I’ll have to get on that!

    • corrinadarling 11.27.2011 at 7:54 AM #

      Thank you! The pie was great and very easy! Definitely get that pumpkin fix while you can!

  2. babette 11.27.2011 at 7:13 PM #

    Your pictures are absolutely beautiful!

    Did you follow a recipe for the roast? I’ve made two roasts from Vegan Dad in the past and really liked them, and also a few roasts from Robin Robertson which were pretty good, but right now I have Isa’s new roast recipe in the oven… hope it will be good, but I’m quite confident!
    http://www.theppk.com/2011/11/seitan-roast-stuffed-with-shiitakes-and-leeks/

  3. Cara 11.29.2011 at 10:13 AM #

    See???? This is why I wanted to come over to your house for Thanksgiving! It all looks and sounds so lovely…wishing I was there πŸ™‚

    • corrinadarling 11.29.2011 at 11:24 AM #

      You have an open invitation to stop by. I will totally try to bring my home to a respectable level of clean just for you!

  4. Erika T. 11.29.2011 at 5:03 PM #

    So I’m basically the hottest person you know….at least that’s how I read it. πŸ™‚

    I’m still dreaming of that roast and cake. I may have to come to the midwest next year just to have it again.

    • corrinadarling 11.29.2011 at 5:38 PM #

      as always, you say just what i am thinking. come to the midwest! it doesn’t even have to be for thanksgiving. i’m open to celebrating whenver you’re available.

  5. Vegan Aide 12.05.2011 at 6:35 PM #

    You did such a beautiful job on that roast (as well as the rest of that delicious-looking meal!). I am so thrilled it worked for you and the food processor is the way to go, I agree. Cheers!

say hey

