doughnut or donut?

3 Nov

I first made Sarah Kramer’s Cinnamon-Sugar Doughnut Holes years ago whilst living with my biffle (biffle = BFFL = best friend for life).  We were exploring veganism together– Our early dalliances with the big V were basically how I learned to cook.

Every single member of the PPK hadn’t published a vegan cookbook yet, and the pickings were still a bit thin.  Mrs. Kramer was THE go-to gal.  Sadly, I’ve had at least as many misses as I have had hits with her recipes, and I don’t often refer back to her books.  That’s probably why I totally forgot about these doughnuts (Donuts?  Let’s just rename them “delicious”).

Then, MoFo happened, and those ‘nuts popped up on my reader not once but twice.  I get it, Universe, you want Mama to make some delicious.  I suppose I can oblige you.

I was a little sad they baked up so lumpy, but my mouth can’t see and seemed to enjoy them just fine.  More than fine.  The delicious were delicious.  There was a hint of baking powder taste, but I didn’t even notice it after my third or fourth hole.

5 Responses to “doughnut or donut?”

  1. Caraara 11.03.2011 at 1:06 PM #

    Corrina, you misunderstood the Universe. She didn’t want you to make *yourself* some donuts, she wanted you to make *me* some. Sometimes life is unclear but I think this one was pretty easy to read 🙂

  2. cadryskitchen 11.03.2011 at 1:07 PM #

    Those donuts look so mouthwatering and delicious! I’ve never made donuts, but I might have to rectify that!

    • corrinadarling 11.10.2011 at 11:09 AM #

      baked donuts are easy peasy! definitely give it a whirl!

  3. GiGi 11.07.2011 at 10:31 PM #

    Donuts or doughnuts…I can never get that right either. They are the high holiness of the treat world. These look so good. Can I be your BFFL too?

say hey

