food swappery

27 Oct

True facts, one time I deleted someone from my twitter feed because she said she didn’t like food.  It’s not like I think she’s a bad person, but, really, what more could she have to say that would be of value to me?!   Food plays a very important role in how I connect with people.  I love cooking for and with people, talking about food, and, oh, of course eating.  If these aren’t a few of your favorite things… Well, I don’t know your life.

This past Spring, I was totally stoked to find out a food swap was beginning in my town– And, a little pukey because even just thinking about new social interactions makes me nervous.  Mostly stoked, though.

The basics of a food swap are these:

  1. Make foodstuffs
  2. Bring foodstuffs to swap
  3. Trade with other swappers 1-for-1
  4.  Go home with your new yum-yums (and maybe some new friends… AWWWWW)

It has only been a few months, but I am definitely head over heels for my local food swap.   Every month I get to step away from my family and go to an event that feels like it is just for me.  We meet at a yarn store; everyone sets up their swap goods while gabbing with new old friends; and, there is a real sense of warmth and camaraderie in the air because we are there for mutual, obsessive love of food– Okay, sometimes the warmth is a broken A/C unit in the middle of July, but usually it is camaraderie.

The swap I go to is a monthly event, and, no, it isn’t exclusively vegan.  But, it is a lot more vegan-friendly than you might think.  My vegan baked goods have always been well received, but probably the most popular items I ever brought were ginger syrup and candied ginger.  Homemade condiments are very often vegan, and they get a ton of love.  There are a number of people who bring intentionally vegan fare, but there are also plenty of popular items that are accidentally vegan (jams, salsas, and extracts to name but a few).  Alls I’m saying is, if you avoid mixed-diet potlucks like the plague (and I feel you on this one) you may find more middle ground at a swap.  Of course, there’s no reason we couldn’t make vegan food swaps the next big vegan trend…

Whaddaya say?  Want to find a food swap in your city or mayhaps start swap of your own? Author and Blogger, Kate Payne, has a food swap how-to and a list of swaps in cities nationwide.  I especially like the link she includes to a Chow.com article about effective food swapping.  It is a great excuse to make some new recipes and meet some new friends!

 

 

P.S.  Look at these mitts I just finished!  They were supposed to be a Christmas gift LAST year, but pregnancy malaise took me over.  Only a little belated…

I realize in this picture they look child sized, but I promise you that they are just so big and fuzzy they make my normal, adult hand look shockingly petite.

11 Responses to “food swappery”

  1. Rebecca Weingart 10.27.2011 at 1:14 PM #

    I really want to start a food swap! Sounds like a lotta fun.

    • corrinadarling 10.28.2011 at 10:17 AM #

      do it! it is so much fun, and i have met so many cool people. i look forward to it every month.

  2. Cara 10.27.2011 at 6:01 PM #

    The fact that you deleted someone who didn’t like food; social interactions make you nervous; you say “stoked,” “Alls,” and “mayhaps”–these are all the reasons why I heart you so! I am convinced now that I wanna do a food swap. Now! 🙂

    • corrinadarling 10.28.2011 at 10:16 AM #

      and, i heart how crazy stinkin’ sweet you are! i swear, i wouldn’t have deleted her if she didn’t mention not liking food SO MANY TIMES. how can you not like food?! oh mah gah.

      • Cara 10.29.2011 at 9:42 PM #

        I support you fully for that decision!

  3. Micah Ludeke 10.28.2011 at 4:32 AM #

    Oh my gracious, yes! Now you have me itching to go to a food swap! Yours sounds so adorable, and those pictures are just the sweetest. I’m also impressed with your knitting skills!

    • corrinadarling 10.28.2011 at 10:15 AM #

      wahhhhhh! the only other person i know to utter the phrase, “oh my gracious” is my favie fave person in the world (besides my children… who she also taught to say that). super love points to this comment just for that. also, thank you! and, swap on!

  4. kala 10.28.2011 at 8:32 AM #

    How fun!

  5. Scissors 10.28.2011 at 11:51 PM #

    I love your blog so I nominated you for a Liebster! 🙂

  6. babette 10.31.2011 at 10:51 AM #

    That is such a cool idea… it must be a lot of fun to swap homemade stuff with other people just like in the old days.

  7. Maggie Muggins 10.31.2011 at 3:26 PM #

    This is right up my alley, I love this idea so much. I need to find out if there are any swaps in my city that I’m unaware of.
    I love that you dropped someone from your twitter feed because they didn’t like food. Really though, how can someone not like food? That’s just bizarre.
    Your mittens are the cutest.

say hey

