{quickie} oatmeal + apple butter

20 Oct

I don’t know how other people do oatmeal.  I usually just throw some stuff in a sauce pot, heat, and eat.  It’s definitely pretty willy nilly up in here, but I try to remember when something works.  Today, everything worked.

  • 60/40 water/milk
  • pat of butter (do i need to clarify that i meant earth balance?  i call all margarine butter.   it’s just what i grew up doing)
  • rolled oats (using less than I think I should gives the best results)
  • and after heating, a spoonful of apple butter (maybe use a smaller spoon next time)

It was delicious.  Or, as my three year old in one of his better moments would say, PAH-LICIOUS.

P.S.  Can I just say how thrilled I was when I realized oatmeal was a great vehicle for jellies, jams, and fruit butters?  It’s not that I hate toast, but… my toaster is evil.

4 Responses to “{quickie} oatmeal + apple butter”

  1. Cara 10.20.2011 at 9:11 PM #

    Where was this post early in the morning when I was trying to fix myself some oatmeal???

    • corrinadarling 10.21.2011 at 3:10 AM #

      i’m pretty horrible at eating breakfast early. i made that oatmeal around 11.

      • Cara 10.21.2011 at 9:19 AM #

        Rats. Can you start eating around 6am PST so I can take a peek? 🙂 By the way, just wanted you to know that I geniunely love visitng your site! It always brings a smile to my face 🙂 <— like that.

      • corrinadarling 10.21.2011 at 9:55 AM #

        you are so, so kind! thank you very much. it’s totally mutual, by the by.

say hey

