{veganize it} apple cinnamon streusel loaf

15 Oct

Sometimes, being a parent means blogging from bed with your babies sleeping next to you while you catch up on Doctor Who.  Like tonight.

Sometimes, being a parent means staying up so late trying a new recipe that your oldest puts himself to bed while your baby tugs at your pants, giving you that, “Hello, why aren’t we doing what he’s doing?” look.  That was last night.

I couldn’t help myself.  This delicious looking so-and-so from Joy the Baker was stalking me around the internet.  From Facebook to Pinterest, I could not escape its call.  I had to veganize it.  It had to be mine.

The original dough recipe calls for three eggs.  Instead of trying to substitute all those eggs I decided to use Julie Hasson’s Cinnamon Swirl Bread dough (yes, I am rep’ing Vegan Diner AGAIN).  I don’t know much about baking, so I like to stick with recipes other people have written that I know work.  Based off Joy’s description and pictures, I felt confident it was a comparable dough.

Gotta say, folks, I’m pretty sure I was right.  Well, mostly.  I definitely should have divided my dough and made two loaves.  The ratio of bread to filling was too high.  I thought because there was over a cup less flour one loaf would be good.  And, it was good (it’s the next night and the whole loaf is gone good).

Two loaves would have been better though.

EDIT:  If you’ve come here and are disappointed I didn’t post the recipe for the dough, I’m very sorry.  I do not post recipes that I didn’t create or alter heavily.  But, if you want to make your own vegan streusel loaf, I think you will have good luck using the sweetened yeast dough of your choosing and following Joy’s rolling, filling, and shaping instructions.  Afterall, that’s what I did.  Oh, and for the crust, I brushed with almond milk, let it soak in, brushed with second coat of almond milk and sprinkled with sugar.  Happy baking!

 

 

10 Responses to “{veganize it} apple cinnamon streusel loaf”

  1. Kate 10.15.2011 at 8:02 AM #

    Awkward confession time – I almost licked the screen just now…

  2. Cara 10.15.2011 at 10:42 AM #

    Kate and I are on the same track. Slurp.

  3. corrinadarling 10.15.2011 at 1:29 PM #

    thanks, ladies! i, shamefully, ate most of this gorgeous beast by my lonesome. it was so good.

  4. celyn 10.15.2011 at 6:14 PM #

    This is beautiful!

  5. Isobelle 10.15.2011 at 8:24 PM #

    Wow, this bread is wild!

  6. Katie 10.16.2011 at 5:10 PM #

    Ohhhh that is so hard to look at!

    • corrinadarling 10.16.2011 at 9:07 PM #

      yes, i couldn’t stand the sight of it so i shoved it all in my mouth.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. november food swap « corrina, darling! - 11.10.2011

    […] hear positive reviews from the three people I swapped with last month.  I brought four loaves of apple streusel cinnamon bread but decided to keep the fourth loaf for myself at the last-minute.  WORTH IT. […]

say hey

