waffling.

14 Oct

For the past week, I’ve born witness to a horrible Snotpocalypse.  Both of my wee ones and the husby have got the snots, the stuffies, and the achies.   Luckily, I appear to have been bypassed.  So, I’m trying to be extra understanding when my three year old turns down my many offers of pancakes, insists he wants waffles, bugs the kindness out of me until I make those waffles, and upon receiving a plate of waffles asks for pancakes.  I said TRYING.

Pancakes are one of my son’s favorite food groups.    To make things a little easier on myself I’ve started keeping the Whole Grain Pancake Mix from Vegan Diner on hand.   Only, it’s not easier when your master and commander starts insisting he wants waffles… or so I thought.

A quick google search about what makes waffle and pancake mix different revealed waffle mixes usually have more fat in them (though reasons were debated).  I didn’t think too hard about it and added around two tablespoons of canola oil to my pancake batter.  I dumped that mess into my waffle maker and crossed my fingers.

It was a total success.

Until I brought them to my kiddo who was all, “Where are the pancakes?”  You must be joking, son!

He wasn’t.  But, I did get him to eat the waffles.

I really like the Vegan Diner Whole Grain Pancake Mix.  I love that it’s whole grain.  So, I can feel a little less awful about giving my kid pancakes as a meal.  And, I love that it’s something I can make in advance so that we can have griddle fresh pancakes at a moments notice.  I’ve made a big batch of pancakes, and kept them in the freezer for reheating.  This is so much better and only a little bit more work.  All you have to add is milk and vanilla (and oil if you wanna make waffles, apparently).   It’s so easy.  Also, it makes just enough pancakes that you’re all satisfied, not so many that you’re sitting at the stove for eternity.

I’m Rambling.  Love this recipe as pancakes AND waffles.  The end.

7 Responses to “waffling.”

  1. coldandsleepy 10.14.2011 at 7:46 AM #

    Mmmm. Waffles. I hadn’t really been in to waffles or pancakes for years before the Emperor got interested in them… now he talks about them all the time and, well, I’m pretty open to suggestion when it comes to delicious food.

    Thanks for mentioning the Vegan Diner recipe! I am seriously in need of a semi-healthy mostly plain (not banana-y or pumpkin-y or beer-y or whatever-y) waffle recipe so it’s good to know there’s one in there!

    • corrinadarling 10.14.2011 at 7:57 AM #

      Yes! They are definitely a tasty, whole grain-y option. One cup of the mix end up filling my waffle maker once. So, I got four waffles out of it. More than enough since they’re really just for Felix.

  2. jessy 10.14.2011 at 1:53 PM #

    i am still kicking myself for giving away my waffle maker a few years ago. i need to go thrift store shopping and snag another one. i’ve heard some great things about Vegan Diner and those waffles look absolutely perfect. whole-grain, too?! score!

  3. Cara 10.14.2011 at 3:44 PM #

    Um, just wanted to tell you that I saw you on tumblr advertising this cinnamon apple streusel bread and I had to keep wiping my eyes just to make sure I was seeing it correctly. So then I jumped on over here to REALLY browse your site and now you have me hooked! I mean, you were doing a great job with the pies, the banana bread, etc. but once I saw your posts pre-MoFo also, well… 1).Where do you live and when can I get baking classes? and 2). I’m your biggest fan now 🙂 LOVE it!!! xoxo, Cara

  4. Erin 10.14.2011 at 10:24 PM #

    I love Vegan Diner but I haven’t tried these yet! I don’t know why, I definitely like the sound of a moderately more guilt-free pancake.

  5. Maggie Muggins 10.14.2011 at 11:23 PM #

    I was so excited when Vegan Diner came out but I still haven’t tried anything yet. I love that there’s a healthier waffle recipe in there, I’m gonna have to crack that book open sooner rather then later.
    BTW I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award! Check it out at http://cookbookaficionado.wordpress.com

  6. Isobelle 10.15.2011 at 8:25 PM #

    Probably sounds crazy, but I haven’t ever made or eaten waffles before. These look insanely good though!

say hey

