ok, i’m really done talking about pie now.

13 Oct

Last pie notes:

  • Rolling out crusts betwixt 2 pieces of wax/parchment paper has revolutionized and prettified my pie making.  It makes the transfer to dish so much easier (which is usually when things really start to go down hill for me).
  • I baked up the pumpkin seeds in a lime-chili mix.  It was so delicious my 3 year old liked them, and he hates everything.
  • If you’re the only person excited to eat pie in your family you probs shouldn’t make two pies in one day.  Or, get a new family.  That’s an option, right?
Today, it’s rainy and bleak.  Basically, perfect kitchen weather.  I’ve been eyeing a few recipes I would like to veganize, and I’m ready to have my way with them.
AND, cooking just became a little more exciting [and my kitchen a little more awesome] because my husband finished tiling the top of our kitchen island.
It was his first tiling project.  He certainly learned a lot.  It’s not perfect, but oh is it beautiful.  Especially compared to the creaky, storage-less table it replaced.  Our counter space and storage has basically doubled– did I mention it’s also infinitely prettier?
The base is three Ikea Expedit shelves pushed together.  We’ve had them arranged in our kitchen for probably six months now.  As they were, they still looked better than the old table, but the tiled top really makes it look finished.  I know this isn’t exactly food related, but this is where all my food’ing happens, and I am so thrilled with how this project turned out.
9 Responses to “ok, i’m really done talking about pie now.”

  1. coldandsleepy 10.13.2011 at 8:46 AM #

    Never stop talking about pie!

    I love the tile top. It really is gorgeous. And also, Expedit bookshelves: what aren’t those things good for?!

    • corrinadarling 10.13.2011 at 12:10 PM #

      You’re right. There is always room for more pie.

      Seriously, those shelves are so versatile, and I cannot believe just how much storage they offer.

  2. Rebecca 10.13.2011 at 9:04 AM #

    Don’t *stop* talking about pie! You’re motivating me to get my butt in the kitchen and make some good ole pie. And can I just say how much I love your kitchen. Did that handy dandy island thing come with the house?

  3. Rebecca 10.13.2011 at 9:07 AM #

    Maybe I should actually *read* the post before asking about that island thing. If only we had an Ikea in St. Louis!

    • corrinadarling 10.13.2011 at 12:09 PM #

      Bahahahaha! I had to drive three hours to an Ikea in Connecticut, but it was worth it.

  4. Sarah M. (@appifanie) 10.13.2011 at 8:10 PM #

    that looks great! good job husband!

  5. Lauren Marie 10.13.2011 at 10:09 PM #

    Never stop talking about pie! Never! Also, you have a beautiful kitchen.

  6. Erin 10.14.2011 at 10:25 PM #

    That kitchen island is such a great idea! Expedit shelves are the best.

  7. Bonnielou 09.13.2013 at 3:44 PM #

    I love the island!!! I have been looking for one for a couple years now. If you don’t mind my asking, about how much did it cost to make the tile top?

say hey

