Pie eating! Pie eating! Yeah! (Pie Day Part 2)

12 Oct

True confession, I used to hate pie.  I was a kid, and I didn’t know any better, okay?  I think it’s safe to say I’ve made up for lost time.

I dedicated an absurd amount of Monday to pie making.  After my breakfast pie, I took my sweet time making my first completely from scratch (even the crust, unlike my apple pie) pumpkin pie using this recipe from Healthy Happy Life.  I made my own pumpkin puree and reduced the amount of sugar so I could use the last of my chickpea buttercream instead of cream cheeze, but otherwise I was true to the recipe.

Overall, I consider it a success.  It was totally delicious and had a great texture.

It just took me too long to get everything ready to make it.  I’m sure the fault lies with me more than the recipe, but I am interested in dating around.  If anyone has suggestions, I’m open to being set-up.

8 Responses to “Pie eating! Pie eating! Yeah! (Pie Day Part 2)”

  1. Cara 10.12.2011 at 6:05 PM #

    Oh my gatos, is this a gorgeous pie or what?!! What time are you serving this bad boy up??? đŸ™‚ xo, Cara

    • corrinadarling 10.12.2011 at 6:10 PM #

      Presently! I’ve alread eaten more than half by myself. Help me.

      • Cara 10.14.2011 at 3:37 PM #

        I have no problem with that. *I just left*

  2. Richa@HobbyandMore 10.12.2011 at 11:38 PM #

    That is one pretty pie! bring one some more pies!

    • corrinadarling 10.13.2011 at 12:12 PM #

      Thank you! I think I’m moving on to sweet breads though!

  3. Jojo 10.13.2011 at 8:26 AM #

    I love pie! I’ve never tried a pumpkin pie though, I think it might be time to try one!

    • corrinadarling 10.13.2011 at 12:11 PM #

      Even during my pie-hating years (hangs head in shame) I still enjoyed pumpkin pie. Probably for it’s uniform texture and lack of “syrup.”

  4. Ashlae W. 10.15.2011 at 9:29 AM #

    What a beautiful pie! And I love, love, love the swirly design. I tried making my version yesterday and used soft silken tofu instead of firm – pumpkin pie fail.

say hey