‘Cause it’s Pie Day, Pie Day. Gotta eat up on Pie Day.

10 Oct

This last weekend was busy, friends and MoFo’ers!  My brother-in-law flew in for a few days, and balancing a house guest and two small children can be exhausting.  I’m not complaining though.  We live far away from our closest family and friends.  It is always a treat when we do get to be with them.

Today was BIL’s last day so I made him his favorite kind of pie, apple — which I conveniently have an abundance of.   Since he was leaving in the afternoon, I had to make it bright and early this morn’.  We had pie for breakfast, ya’ll.  Jealous?

We’ve been taking it easy since he left, but I did manage to peel myself off the couch long enough to roast a pumpkin, and I’m hoping that sometime before midnight I’ll have turned this pumpkin into a pie.  Update to follow.

9 Responses to “‘Cause it’s Pie Day, Pie Day. Gotta eat up on Pie Day.”

  1. Omgoshimvegan 10.10.2011 at 6:37 PM #

    That pie looks great

  2. Alicia 10.11.2011 at 8:00 AM #

    That. Crust. It looks fantastic. I am very jealous you had pie for breakfast!

    • corrinadarling 10.11.2011 at 11:29 AM #

      thank you kindly. i wish i could proudly say i made it, but i must bow my head in shame and admit it was store-bought crust. i fully planned on making the crust the night before but completely lost track of time and motivation.

  3. Jojo 10.11.2011 at 8:55 AM #

    Pie for breakfast, that’s an awesome start to the day.

    • corrinadarling 10.11.2011 at 11:30 AM #

      Truth. Actually, we had waffles, too. I kept joking about making a waffle sandwich with pie in the middle, and I was only sorta joking.

  4. Cara 10.11.2011 at 10:19 AM #

    BAHAHAHAHA!!!! Great, now you have the actual song stuck in my head! However, in honor of you, I will change the lyrics to “Pie Day” as I sing it today (because we all know that song sticks ALL day long). Now let’s talk about this pie. WOW!!! I don’t know what else to say because it is gorgeous!!! Make me one please 🙂

    • corrinadarling 10.11.2011 at 11:32 AM #

      i have nothing but love for that song since i saw stephen colbert perform it on jimmy fallon. he elevated the whole thing to another level. no lie.

  5. Maggie Muggins 10.11.2011 at 5:29 PM #

    Jealous? Why yes, yes I am. Your pie looks beautiful. I wish I had an excuse to make an apple pie other then the fact that I want to eat the entire thing myself.

say hey

