MoFo Week One (Link Love)

7 Oct

Wow, you guys, this past week has been positively inspiring.

There have been so many great posts.  I think I could spend the rest of the month just cooking food from and inspired by other MoFo’ers.

Joanna’s Nutritional Comparison of Nuggets was insightful.  It even made me feel pretty good about store bought nuggets.  But, the best part is I don’t need to buy them anymore because my crazy picky 3 year old will eat her tasty seitan nuggets.

Being raised Catholic in Wisconsin, I have always associated Fridays with a Fish Fry.  I’d love to recapture that tradition vegan-style by pairing Olives for Dinner’s Faux Fish with some homemade coleslaw.

This Braised Cabbage and Seitan Sausage recipe from The Taste Space strikes me as the more interesting cousin of Brats and ‘Kraut.  Totally appealing to my Midwestern roots, and I’m positive my Yooper husband would love it.

I love getting Asian take-out on the weekend, but maybe this time I’ll keep it in house.  I could whip up some General Tso’s Tofu inspired by Food Stains or maybe some of Meet the Wikos’ BBQ Seitan Steamed Buns.

Last weekend at the Farmer’s Market I bought a couple small pumpkins to make my first completely from scratch pumpkin pie.  I’ll be using Your Daily Vegan’s instructions for roasting the pumpkin flesh, and then I’m going to gourmet up the seeds with some of the spice combos from The Angry Vegan.

Finally, one of my very favorite posts of the week was the Brownie Showdown at La Vide Vegga.  She laid out her criteria for the perfect brownie (all of which I completely agree on), and proceeded to test and compare three recipes.  The clear winner was Joanna’s (yes, the same Joanna of the aforementioned awesome nugget post) recipe, All-Time Very Best Vegan Brownies.

After all that brownie love, my cravings got the better of my will-power.  I was left with no choice but to make MY favorite brownies (which I believe meet all the criteria listed in the showdown), Dreena Burton’s brownie recipe in Vive Le Vegan.

Not only do they meet all the criteria of The Showdown, they meet a check-in-the-box I consider vital for a recipe to make it into regular rotation at  my house.  All of the ingredients are extremely pantry friendly.  I’m talking “you’re at your mother-in-law’s and all she has for you is a jug of soy milk and the veggie burgers she bought when you were visiting LAST Christmas” friendly.  Literally, the most esoteric ingredients in this recipe are non-dairy milk and maple syrup (and you could easily sub out the syrup).

They are great brownies, and Vive Le Vegan is a great book.  I recommend them, the book, AND doubling this recipe (I actually penciled the measurements in the margins) then baking in a 9×13 pan instead of an 8×8.

So, why don’t you bake up some MoFo inspired brownies this weekend and give the blogging a rest?  We can all catch up on the literally thousands of posts from this past week and regroup for week two!

8 Responses to “MoFo Week One (Link Love)”

  1. joanna 10.07.2011 at 9:29 PM #

    i can’t say WHY exactly, but this is my very favorite post anyone has ever written. 🙂

  2. Kelly 10.07.2011 at 10:24 PM #

    Oh man, thanks for the awesome shout-out! I shamefully don’t own Vive le Vegan, but it is now officially on my Christmas list. Most likely I’ll cave and buy it in a week and have Brownie Showdown 2.0. 🙂

    • corrinadarling 10.08.2011 at 9:56 PM #

      No prob! I so loved your brownie breakdown. I seriously laughed aloud reading about the cakey brownie. I don’t use VLV all the time anymore, but there are a few recipes that are staples, including the brownies and the tofu balls. It’s a great book.

  3. Cara 10.07.2011 at 10:30 PM #

    I’m now understanding why they said that VeganMoFo is THE most wonderful time of the year. It REALLY is!!! I’m having so much fun peeking into everyone’s lives and beautiful blogs/creative ideas. I don’t want it to stop. I cannot wait to browse through your round-up and check out these favorites. Thanks for doing this. xoxo, Cara

    • corrinadarling 10.08.2011 at 10:01 PM #

      I agree. It is so much fun looking through th MoFo feed and finding new-to-me people.

  4. Saveur 10.08.2011 at 3:19 AM #

    Thanks for the link. 🙂 Gotta love all the vegan love this month on the blogosphere. 🙂

    • corrinadarling 10.08.2011 at 9:47 PM #

      there are so many blogs it’s overwhelming, but i’m having a lot of fun trying to keep up/1

say hey

