yummiest ugly cake ever and pinterest post

6 Oct

This is Isa’s Raspberry Blackout Cake from Vegan with a Vengeance.  Actually, this is a strawberry version, which is how I always make it.  See, instead of jam I make the filling for the blondie bars from VWAV.  Again, using strawberries instead of the recommended  fruit– can I do nothing as directed?  Truly, I am a rebel (No, I am not).

It’s our birthday cake.  As in, THE birthday cake for all birthdays in our household.  Well, all adult birthdays (maybe when you hit the double digits, darlings).  So, I make this cake often enough (multiple times a year every year since VWAV came out), and I can NEVER get it to look nice.  Literally, this is the prettiest I’ve every made this cake.  Most often it looks like a heap of, well, not nice things that should make you lose your appetite.  Thank goodness it is so delicious our stomach’s love overrides our eye’s logic (something like “DO NOT WANT I want you inside me!”).

But, I hadn’t meant to talk so much about this hideously delicious cake.  I just didn’t want to make a post dedicated solely to my MoFo pinboard.

Pinterest has really added another dimension to this year’s MoFo.  It’s hard to keep up with all the blogs participating, and Pinterest has been a great way to see what other people are digging and find stuff I overlooked whilst perusing my reader.    So, yes, I have a VeganMofo pinboard on Pinterest (Yes, I did just link to it twice).  Do you?  Post a link in the comments, and I’ll follow.

8 Responses to “yummiest ugly cake ever and pinterest post”

  1. Kelly 10.06.2011 at 8:38 AM #

    Oh man, I made that cake once and have been meaning to make it again ever since! You just reminded me that I should…

  2. Jeni Treehugger 10.06.2011 at 9:41 AM #

    It makes me wish I could eat it so it’s job done in my opinion!
    I must try that cake recipe, I am such a slacker.
    🙂

  3. jojo 10.06.2011 at 9:50 AM #

    I love that cake! I make it for almost all birthdays too! I don’t have a specific MoFo pinboard on Pinterest but I’m adding stuff to my Vegan Food board here http://pinterest.com/veganinbrighton/vegan-food/

    • corrinadarling 10.06.2011 at 10:52 AM #

      oh hey, i’m already following! i love looking at food on pinterest.

  4. Rebecca W. 10.06.2011 at 10:49 AM #

    I think your cake is pretty darn cute! This is on my list of recipes to make this month. I don’t have a birthday coming up, though, so maybe I’ll try to pass it off as a Halloween cake. The raspberries can be the blood?

    • corrinadarling 10.06.2011 at 10:51 AM #

      you don’t need a special occasion for a cake this delicious. i used to make it WAY more often. i just had to stop because, you know, it wasn’t feasible for my waistline.

say hey

