magically magical sauce of magicalness

6 Oct

I was instantly drawn to this recipe on Heidi Swanson’s blog, 101 Cookbooks.  It just looked so perfectly… savory… herby… reddish brown.  And, then there’s the name.  It’s called MAGIC sauce.  Seriously.  Magic sauce.

What I love most about this recipe, beside its name, is how simple it is, from ingredients to directions.  Though, I don’t really know how to smash my garlic into a paste– At least not raw garlic.  Am I missing something really obvious?  I am, aren’t I?

It came together in a blink– Believe me, if I could think of a clever way to bring up Doctor Who right now, I would.

The only things I did different, besides mincing the garlic, was use dry herbs and a combo of smoked paprika AND sweet paprika.  I did take a premature taste right before adding the lemon juice, and that was a mistake.  Turns out that tang was essential.  Everything really came together in the end though.

I enjoyed the magic on my pasta, but Heidi suggests putting it atop baked potatoes or garnishing soups.  There’s a lot of room for experimentation here.  Personally, I think I’m gonna slather it on some chickpeas next, and then when I get sick of that I’m going to slather it on some chickpeas and BAKE them–  I am full of wonderful ideas like this.

11 Responses to “magically magical sauce of magicalness”

  1. January J. Johnson 10.06.2011 at 11:57 PM #

    I am am always looking for good sauces. This looks great!

    • corrinadarling 10.07.2011 at 3:58 PM #

      right? quick, delicious sauces are always great to have on hand!

  2. jd 10.07.2011 at 2:12 AM #

    I was in love with this recipe after seeing it on Heidi’s website, too! Somehow I forgot about it though (I know, how could that be?!), so thanks for reminding me… and for making it look so darn magically delicious 🙂

    • corrinadarling 10.07.2011 at 3:59 PM #

      thank you! to be fair, how it looks is all heidi and the sauce. it’s such a simple, earthy recipe.

  3. Maggie Muggins 10.07.2011 at 11:03 AM #

    I remember bookmarking that one when she posted it. How can you badmouth anything with a name like magic sauce? You know it’s gotta be good.
    If it makes you feel any better, you are not alone in the garlic-smashing-into-paste confusion, I have no idea how you’re suppose to do that.

    • corrinadarling 10.07.2011 at 4:01 PM #

      i’m glad i’m not the only one kind of side-eyeing “smash into a paste.” i just don’t have proper smashing skills clearly.

  4. Richa@HobbyandMore 10.07.2011 at 4:37 PM #

    I totally bak the magicalness of the magical magic sauce.. love the sauce and love your pictures!

  5. Bazu 10.07.2011 at 10:42 PM #

    I learned the garlic smash from Rachael Ray: take a garlic, coarse salt, and the side of a knife and work through until squishy and pasty!

    • corrinadarling 10.07.2011 at 10:44 PM #

      holy crap, bazu to the rescue! the salt is the missing link. i totally tried smooshing the crap out of it with my knife. it just kind of broke into chunks.

  6. Ashlae 10.07.2011 at 10:45 PM #

    All I had to do was look at the photo and I KNEW it was Heidi’s sauce! I reaaaaaaally need to get around to making it.

    Also, you should invest in a garlic zoom – single greatest kitchen gadget ever. Also, it’s easy to smash the garlic once it’s “zoomed” 🙂

  7. Saveur 10.08.2011 at 3:20 AM #

    Oooh, I bookmarked this but haven’t made it yet. Glad to hear you loved it. 🙂

say hey

