a rare recipe post

4 Oct

I have one of these.

He enjoys eating these.

Often enough, he can’t eat them all as fast as they go bad.  So, I get to make this.

This is one of few recipes I’ve modified so significantly I feel I can claim it as my own.  After bed time, I’ll come back and edit the recipe into this post.  Until then just know that if you’ve put chocolate chips in your banana bread you need to stop immediately.  It’s blueberries for the win.

EDIT:

Well, the toddler is in bed with Papa, and I’ve got a sleeping baby on my lap.  So, here it is.

Blueberry Banana Bread (modified and veganized from Betty Crocker)

1 C sugar
1/2 C coconut oil (or earth balance)
2 flax eggs (1 T flax + 3 T water, times 2)
1 1/2 C pureed banana
1/2 C almond milk + tsp or so ACV (mix and set aside beforehand)
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 1/2 C AP flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 C blueberries
Mix wet ingredients (including sugar) together.  Sift in dry ingredients.  Try not to over stir.  Fold in blueberries.  Place in a greased loaf pan and bake at 350 for 1 hr 15 min or until cooked through (check with toothpick or butter knife).
13 Responses to “a rare recipe post”

  1. Ashlae 10.04.2011 at 7:23 PM #

    IS HE YOURS? Seriously, one of the cutest tiny humans I’ve ever seen. And usually, I think most of them look like aliens. But my goodness, he is freaking adorable. Oh, and the blueberry banana bread looks divine.

    • corrinadarling 10.04.2011 at 9:29 PM #

      Oh, thank you. He is mine, and adorable, but they do usually start out pretty goofy looking. The bread is awesome. I made this loaf early this evening, and it’s already 2/3rds gone.

  2. bad1788 10.04.2011 at 7:56 PM #

    Oh man I haven’t made banana bread in far too long!

  3. Jojo 10.05.2011 at 6:52 AM #

    That looks fantastic. I’ll admit that I’m always a chocolate chips in banana bread kinda girl but I’ll certainly give blueberries a try!

  4. Cara 10.05.2011 at 1:33 PM #

    This bread sounds and looks so good! I must de-glutenize it to make it safe for me to eat now! I smell a challenge… xo, Cara

    • corrinadarling 10.05.2011 at 5:18 PM #

      oooooh, good luck to you! i wish i could offer some guidance, but i think it’s best i just own my ignorance to all things GF.

      • Cara 10.06.2011 at 8:58 AM #

        That makes 2 of us being ignorant to all things GF 🙂 haha. I told you it would be a challenge. And I thank for the share of luck–I will need it 🙂

  5. Micah Ludeke 10.05.2011 at 4:03 PM #

    This post (and your blog in general) is adorable! My favorite part of MoFo is finding gems like this via the blogroll!

    • corrinadarling 10.05.2011 at 5:18 PM #

      wow. thank you kindly. i agree. i’m enjoying finding new-to-me blogs as much as i enjoy being motivated to actually blog.

  6. Maggie Muggins 10.05.2011 at 4:42 PM #

    I see what game you’re playing, you lure me in with that unbelievable cute picture of your kid and then win me over with that delicious looking banana bread, touche.

    • corrinadarling 10.05.2011 at 5:16 PM #

      in truth, i did feel like i was taking advantage of my boy’s dashing good looks posting a picture like that, but, ya know, it’s a blog about stuff i made… and i totes made that.

  7. Nanette 10.06.2011 at 5:57 PM #

    What a cute kiddo! I never would have thought of blueberries in banana bread but now I have to try it! Thanks for the recipe!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. true confessions « corrina, darling! - 10.23.2011

    […] Banana Bread. […]

say hey

