vegan month of food

1 Oct

It’s here!  And, I am woefully unprepared.  So, uh, vegan food.  Yeah.

Ha, okay.  Topic… topic… topic.  Let’s talk about about apples!  I went apple picking for– don’t laugh– the first time last month.  My parents and aunt and uncle were in town, and it seemed like something one should do with guests during the pre-fall season in Upstate NY.

I broke into my half bushel by making pie, of course.

After remembering I'd left one of two pie plates at a friend's house the second pie became a tart.

I cannot remember if the Betty Crocker recipe is completely vegan or if I just vegan it up in my head as I go, but it’s close if not vegan and very reliable.  BC is def my go-to gal when I want to make something taste authentically Midwestern-American (or, like it did when I ate it growing up).   I’ve had very good luck veganizing recipes from The Big Red Book.  It will always have a place in my kitchen.

The pie crust was, admittedly, store bought.  I went completely blank at the grocery store and could not find shortening– I know!  I realized exactly where it was right after I loaded my pies into the oven.  I’ve since acquired shortening and made a very satisfying crust using Julie Hasson’s recipe in Vegan Diner, an impulse purchase that I have not once regretted.

Both pies were cheerfully devoured by the end of the next day.  We’ve been slowly working our way through the remainder of our half bushel.  The darling toddler has made a respectable dent eating them straight up during snack time, but I’ve also made some apple butter.  I used a stove top recipe, but next time I’m going slow cooker fo sho.

Honestly though, I’m not really sure what else to make.  Applesauce isn’t really my jam, and I’m already pretty overwhelmed by the apple butter (uses other than putting on toast?  anyone?  beuller?).  Oh well, guess there are a few more pies in my future.  Not complaining.

12 Responses to “vegan month of food”

  1. Bobbie {thevegancrew} 10.01.2011 at 11:38 AM #

    I’ve never gone apple-picking before either, but it sounds like so much fun. I’m drooling over your apple pie and tart–I’m majorly into apples this fall. Anyway, Happy MoFo-ing 🙂

  2. adriennefriend 10.01.2011 at 10:40 PM #

    way to improvise sans pie dish! absolutely beautiful.

    -a fellow MoFo-er 🙂

  3. Bazu 10.02.2011 at 3:32 AM #

    Oh I miss upstate ny apple season!
    I find that apples last forever in the fridge. One year I also had good results freezing them. (peel, core, slice, dunk in water/lemon juice combo, freeze in single layer, seal). That way, apple cobblers are minutes away.

    • corrinadarling 10.03.2011 at 6:25 AM #

      bazu! after the pies and apple butter i finally was able to fit the remaining apples in my fridge. i’m thinking about freezing some apple pie filling, but really my freezer space is limited.

  4. Jeni Treehugger 10.02.2011 at 7:53 AM #

    Mmmmmm PIE………..
    Happy MoFo’ing
    🙂

  5. mollyjade 10.02.2011 at 6:03 PM #

    Make baked apples. They’re so easy and remind me of fall.

  6. Mo 10.02.2011 at 6:47 PM #

    That pie looks great!

    One of my favorite thing to do with apples is eat them in savory things. Isa has this seitan chops with apples, ginger, and cranberries that is amazing! There’s also all sorts of soups you can make with them.

    • corrinadarling 10.03.2011 at 6:27 AM #

      oh man, savory apples kind of blow my midwestern mind. i’m definitely curious…

  7. Ashlae 10.02.2011 at 8:19 PM #

    Can’t think of a better way to break in your first bushel than by making an apple pie! You should make an apple-cinnamon galette – mmm, would be so good. But, your pies look delicious, too.

  8. Patricia Sjöberg 10.03.2011 at 7:54 AM #

    I have seen apple butter used in a recipe combined with mustard to make a sauce for p***. That said, could you possibly combine about a cup of apple butter, a tablespoon of dry mustard, and 1 tsp each of salt and pepper, and make something of an apply type sauce for baked/roasted seitan? Just a thought. I am considering trying this next time I make apple butter. I’ve done the slow cooker apple butter and it is the VERY BEST!

    • corrinadarling 10.03.2011 at 10:23 AM #

      oooooooh, sound suggestion! i did use some in place of a cinnamon-sugar mixture in the cinnamon bread recipe from Vegan Diner. it was pretty delicious, but i’m not sure i need THAT much cinnamon apple swirl bread. oh wait, yah, i do.

say hey

