2 Feb

One thing that I am always in search of as a mom are good parenting blogs.  More over, parenting blogs that jive with my sensibilities and parenting style, something that connects.  Recently, I found Steady Mom who issued a 30-Minute Blog challenge to mom’s the internet over.  I think it’s a great idea.  I’m going to give it a go.  Starting now.  24 minutes left…

The past few weeks, we’ve made a greater effort to eat primarily from the Farmer’s Market.  Again, I am so grateful to live somewhere with a year-round market.  It’s completely novel and absolutely fabulous.  It is so satisfying to get bundled up and head to the market on Saturday.   There are always familiar faces and good smells.  And, at this point in the year, it just feels so good to leave the house for any reason.

We eat mostly vegan at home so it’s been a challenge finding recipes that present root vegetables in fresh and interesting ways.  I most often turn the cookbooks of Isa Chandra Moskowitz, my favorite vegan cookbook author, and Mark Bittman’s tome How to Cook Everything Vegetarian.  Last night I made a very simple pizza topped with caramelized onions using HTCEV.  It was the kind of cooking that takes time but is very low maintenance and easy to walk away from and come back to at your leisure.

It turned out swimmingly.  Simple and delicious.  It reminded me very much of my favorite frozen pizza by Amy’s Kitchen, Roasted Vegetable; I am definitely going to try it again with similar toppings (I recall red peppers and artichokes of the top of my head).

Some other meals we’ve enjoyed with our Farmer’s Market spoils:  Samosa Mashed Potato Pancakes, Potato Kale Enchiladas, Spinach Lasagna, and Leek and Bean Cassoulet with Biscuits.  It tastes like Winter up in here!!

I’m off to wipe some more snot from ‘neath my toddlers snout.  We’re up to our necks in cold and flu, and I have to admit I’ve placated the sick darling with kid’s shows from Netflix Instant View (lots of Fraggle Rock and Spongebob).  But, I’ll moan about my non-tv-free home guilt some other time.

(35 minutes… oops!)

One Response to “”

  1. veebhu 02.02.2010 at 1:23 PM #

    The pizza looks delicious! And I love Amy’s Kitchen.. especially the stuffed pasta shells and burritos. After eating it, I feel full & healthier.

    Yeah the only word that I can think of when describing the East Coast weather is COLD! I try my best not to go outside & if I do, I look like an eskimo wrapped up in layers & layers of clothings & winter accessories lol.

    Hope your son feels better `=O)

say hey

