| Vegan MoFo 2012 | Day 1

1 Oct

 

It is full on Fall and VeganMoFo has begun!

This is MY season.  To me, wearing a sweater is like wearing a hug all day long, and warm, stick-to-your-ribs cooking has soul healing properties.  I am so ready to get down to it, except… I’m not.

It is exactly one month since we moved, two weeks since our belongings joined us, and I still don’t have my kitchen in order.  For me, MoFo is going to be heavily dedicated to getting my pantry set up.  It has been a long time since I have had to start completely from scratch.  So all suggestions are welcome!

Here are some of my Vegan Pantry Musts:

  • AP flour
  • White Whole Wheat Flour
  • Quinoa
  • White and brown rice
  • Starches (corn, arrowroot, tapioca)
  • Whole Wheat and Brown Rice pastas
  • Dried beans (chickpeas mostly)
  • Active Dry Yeast
  • White and brown sugar
  • Better Than Buillion Veg Broth
  • Maple Syrup
  • Nutritional Yeast
  • Rolled Oats
  • Vinegars (as many kinds as we can fit)
  • Olive, Peanut, and Sesame Oil
  • Coconut Milk
  • Jarred tomato sauces
  • Tomato Paste
  • Miso (usually light)
  • Soy Sauce
  • Herbs/Spices (whole and ground) (as many as I can find space for)
  • Powdered Soy Milk
  • Vanilla Extract
  • Chocolate Chips (my kitchen isn’t square if I can’t make cookies with what’s in my pantry)
  • Peanut and Sunflower seed butters

 

Did I miss anything important?  Do you have any store or brand specific must-haves?  I am living within reasonable distance of both Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s for the very first time.  I’d love some suggestions of what to take advantage of.

Happy MoFo, ya’ll!

20 Responses to “| Vegan MoFo 2012 | Day 1”

  1. Cara 10.01.2012 at 2:32 PM #

    As long as I am stocked on chocolate chips, I am a happy girl :)
    So excited for this month–this is when I first fell in love with you last year!! xo

    • corrinadarling 10.01.2012 at 2:48 PM #

      And, when I fell in love with you! Even though I am bad at posting often, I’ve still loved following your blog as it has evolved this past year! You’re so rad.

      • Cara 10.01.2012 at 2:50 PM #

        Not-so-secret lovers! YAY! Awwwww, thanks for that too. That put a big ol’ smile on this face. xo

  2. Maggie Muggins 10.01.2012 at 5:52 PM #

    Don’t forget liquid smoke! It’s a must in my pantry, or how about tvp or soy curls? Not sure if you eat those.

    • corrinadarling 10.02.2012 at 8:31 AM #

      Liquid smoke! Yes, I NEED that. I try to avoid tvp, but I do like soy curls. I just never buy them because I haven’t been living where they are easily available. Perhaps they are now!

  3. veganbabette 10.01.2012 at 7:42 PM #

    What a gorgeous picture?

    Do you store miso in the pantry? I always thought it had to go in the fridge =/

    In my pantry, I also like to have cocoa powder, coconut flakes, chia seeds and cheap dried shiitake mushrooms. Oh, and blackstrap molasses.

    • veganbabette 10.01.2012 at 7:43 PM #

      I meant to say “What a gorgeous picture!” (with an exclamation mark)

    • corrinadarling 10.02.2012 at 8:30 AM #

      Thank you kindly! I definitely store miso in the fridge. I guess I was speaking more broadly than just the pantry and really meant staples. Ah, and I do use cocoa powder, coconut flakes, and molasses on the regular. I still haven’t dabbled in chia seeds, but I am curious. And, dried mushrooms is a great idea! Thank you. Thank you.

  4. JENNA 10.02.2012 at 2:01 PM #

    Agave, coconut flakes and nuts..we alway’s have a wide variety of nuts in our pantry for snacking on.

    • corrinadarling 10.02.2012 at 2:17 PM #

      Truth! Nuts are one of the few things my picky kid will nosh on happily. We always have a few different kinds around.

  5. Anastasia 10.02.2012 at 2:50 PM #

    I keep most of the stuff you have listed on hand, plus flax seeds (egg replacer in baking), baking powder, veggie broth powder, coffee, canned tomatoes, and lentils. I love a full pantry.
    ;]

    • corrinadarling 10.02.2012 at 3:01 PM #

      Flax seeds! How could I forget.

      I have started trying to stay away from canned tomatoes (and beans) because of the BPA lining in cans.

      • Lisa Marie @ MidwestVeg 10.03.2012 at 12:14 AM #

        Actually Eden brand canned goods are BPA free! They’re a bit on the pricey side, but definitely worth it.

      • corrinadarling 10.03.2012 at 6:05 AM #

        I knew about Eden cans, but I don’t see them often and didn’t think they did tomatoes.

  6. Ashley Hudson (@SouthnPurpleVeg) 10.02.2012 at 11:21 PM #

    One thing I always have in my pantry is coconut oil to cook with. As far any recommendations for Trader Joes their’s alot to choose from that they have Vegan friendly. I personally like Tropcial Carrot Juice it doesn’t taste like carrot juice.

    • corrinadarling 10.03.2012 at 6:07 AM #

      Coconut oil! Of course. Love it in my baked goods especially. Added to the list! Thanks.

  7. Lisa Marie @ MidwestVeg 10.03.2012 at 12:11 AM #

    I believe the first time I participated in Vegan MoFo I was in the process of moving from the East Coast to the Midwest. I don’t even know HOW I managed to pull that one off. It wasn’t easy! Lucky you living so close to both stores! The closest Whole Foods is a good 45 minutes – an hour away. So I REALLY have to make sure my pantry is fully stocked.

    I like to keep a few cans of coconut milk in the fridge at ALL times so that I can easily whip up some whipped cream. It so comes in handy especially during the nice fall weather when I like to curl up on the couch with a hot latte or cocoa. Other than that my pantry sounds a lot like yours.

    Good luck setting up your kitchen!

    • corrinadarling 10.03.2012 at 6:14 AM #

      That’s a good tip for fast and affordable whip!

      And, AH! I would be a total fail Mofo’ing mid-move. We truly are mostly settled. I am just very slow to get things organized. But, you know, I am so used to just shopping at regular groceries stores from our time on the East Coast I don’t even know where to begin with WF and TJs. I am sure in time I will adapt.

  8. Lisa is Raw on $10 a Day (or Less!) 10.03.2012 at 8:43 AM #

    If I have chocolate chips, I’m good to go!

  9. kittee 10.03.2012 at 10:11 AM #

    Have fun putting your new kitchen together! MoFo is a great excuse to get it done.
    xo
    kittee

say hey

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

