thanksgiving adjacent

22 Nov

… is what I’ve called the past few days.  Mostly so I can finally turn on Christmas music without feeling completely absurd, but also because I have thought about the big meal almost non-stop.

Holidays definitely motivate me to go the extra mile in the kitchen.  It’s one of the few times I make fancy seitan roasts, and I look forward to it each season.  This year I was struggling to decide betwixt these two roasts (click pics for original source):

-OR-

I finally decided on the latter, Seitan Roast with Sausage and Pear Stuffing and Onion-Cider Gravy, because it is a little smaller and because it’s seitan stuffed with seitan.  Get IN me already!

This will be the second year I’m celebrating the holiday with my girl, Erika.  She’s a fellow Navy wife (so both our husbies are working through the holiday), and I love hanging out with her because 1. she’s totally down with Thanxvegan 2. her son is basically my three year old’s idol and 3. she’s easy on the eyes (she also has a lovely, completely hilarious personality. blahdy, blah, blah…).  She’s also a delight to share a kitchen with.  Thank goodness, because between my special lady friend and I there is gonna be so much cooking!

We were gchat’ing about it last night, and our menu is bitchin’.

It also turns out Erika’s birthday is Thanksgiving adjacent (thank you, Facebook).  So, I dug around on Pinterest for a Thanksgiving-y Birthday cake, and this amazing beast is what I found.  In case you didn’t click the link, that’s a “4-Layer Sweet Potato & Ginger Layer Cake with Toasted Marshmallow Filling, Candied Pecans and Brown Sugar & Cinnamon Buttercream.”  In other words, a friggin’ mouthful.  Is any of it vegan?  No.  Do I plan to veganize it all?  Yes.

Obviously, I have a lot on my plate (har, har).  That’s why I’m starting my cooking today.  I’ve got a grocery list.  My kitchen is cleaner than it was a day ago.  Let’s do this!

3 Responses to “thanksgiving adjacent”

  1. Cara 11.22.2011 at 10:26 AM #

    Do you have room for one more? *batting eyelashes*

    • corrinadarling 11.22.2011 at 11:58 AM #

      Always! I haven’t even begun to use all the leaves in my table!

      • Cara 11.23.2011 at 9:14 AM #

        Seriously though. I *want* to come over :) haha. Your Thanksgiving dinner sounds INCREDIBLE!!

say hey

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

