chickpea buttercream frosting

9 Oct

Inspired by Chocolate Covered Katie’s Cookie Dough Dip (so delicious even my ever skeptical husby enjoys it) which left me wondering what other sweet yum-yums I could add some fiber to.

And then it came to me, Chickpea Buttercream!  Skeptical Husby and visiting omni brother-in-law approved.

1/3 chickpeas

1/4 shortening

2 tsp vanilla

3+ C powdered sugar (ya know, just keep adding until it’s as stiff as you want)

milk (as needed)

Puree chickpeas and shortening– I found my huge food processor grabbed everything better when I added 1/4 C of the powdered sugar.  When the beans were sufficiently pureed I added the vanilla.  Then started adding powdered sugar and blending until it was as thick as I like.

Honestly, it doesn’t even feel like a recipe since all I did was substitute pureed chickpeas for some of the fat in a normal buttercream recipe.  You could probably just as easily use marg instead of shortening or smaller amounts of marg and shortening plus chickpeas.  All you should really take away from this is that adding pureed beans to your buttercream is a thing you could do.  If you wanted.  Which I do.

10 Responses to “chickpea buttercream frosting”

  1. JohannaGGG 10.09.2011 at 5:59 PM #

    Wow I must try that – I made some frosting on the weekend with coconut butter, almond butter and maple syrup which was great but then nuts are such a no-no around kids that it would be nice to make a frosting I could share with other families

  2. Crystal 10.09.2011 at 7:35 PM #

    Awesomeness and too funny that we posted the same thing…hehehe

  3. celyn 10.10.2011 at 3:17 PM #

    Whoa! Innovative!

  4. Richa@HobbyandMore 10.11.2011 at 12:31 AM #

    woah.. i cant see no chickpea in the frosting.. cool idea!

  5. Christina 10.11.2011 at 12:33 AM #

    What a crazy amazing, inspiring, and fun direction for chickpeas!

  6. Ashlae W. 10.11.2011 at 3:55 PM #

    I love this idea! And I especially love how smooth the frosting looks. Cannot wait to try!

  7. Micah Ludeke 10.12.2011 at 5:15 PM #

    Are you kidding me?! This looks amazing.

  8. VEGirl 10.14.2011 at 12:51 PM #

    What a fabulous idea!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gluten-Free Vegan Chocolate Banana Muffins with Chickpea Flour | vegangela - 10.11.2011

    [...] I promise you, kids will never know that these aren’t cupcakes. You could even continue the chickpea theme and frost these with Corina’s Chickpea Buttercream Frosting :) [...]

  2. Gluten-Free Vegan Chocolate Banana Muffins with Chickpea Flour | Vegangela - 07.06.2013

    […] I promise you, kids will never know that these aren’t cupcakes. You could even continue the chickpea theme and frost these with Corina’s Chickpea Buttercream Frosting :) […]

say hey

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

